Profile

mama_marmotte: (marmotte, Marmotte_icon)

mama_marmotte's Journal

Free Account

Created on 2016-04-27 02:06:08 (#2510968), last updated 2017-10-16 (1 week ago)

3,121 comments received, 9 comments posted

541 Journal Entries, 441 Tags, 0 Memories, 5 Icons

View extended profile

Name:mama_marmotte
Birthdate:Jan 24
Location:United States of America
I'm a British ex-pat now living in America with my American husband and daughter. I became pregnant at the age of 42, six weeks after arriving in my new country and after doctors had told me my chances of ever reproducing naturally were less than 5%. I was 43 when she was born. So, yeah, big shock.
Serendipity is a wonderful thing. (Although my pregnancy was 39 weeks of (w)retchedness).

I identify as disabled due to the following...

I am a veteran *sufferer* of Myalgic Encephalomyelitis (ME), following infection with the EB virus when I was seventeen. It robbed me of a lot of years but I'm not so bitter and twisted about that as I used to be. These days I tend to live my life despite the illness, rather than because of it.

I have wonky hips, walk like a duck and have no pretty shoes thanks to the orthotics to correct the duck gait. The proper term is "persistent foetal/fetal femoral anteversion from hypermobility due to being born with the wrong kind of collagen. The lack of pretty shoes still bugs me more than the pain from subluxating (and now arthritic) hips.

I am also a i) coeliac (or celiac if you're American) and ii) I have Gilbert's Syndrome. This means i) I've been gluten free since I was 18 and ii) I start to turn yellow if I don't eat for too long.

I'm a wheelchair/scooter/crutch and cane user, on a far less regular basis than I used to be.

My main language is English but ASL comes a close second, as my husband is deaf. I am also francophone.

My journalling is a bit sporadic and intermittent lately as I spend most of my life in a state of astonishment when I make it to the weekend without dropping dead from exhaustion in the meantime. Having a kid in your 40s while chronically ill will do that to ya. But she is worth it. Totally.

Drop me a line if you want to add me as a friend.


Visitor Map
Create your own visitor map!



Interests (15):

art clay silver, asl, cfids, crochet, deaf, french, french cinema, horticulture, jewellery making, knitting, myalgic encephalomyelitis, open university, persistent fetal femoral anteversion, persistent foetal femoral anteversion, silver smithing
People [View Entries]
Communities [View entries]
Feeds [View Entries]
To link to this user, copy this code:
On Dreamwidth:
Elsewhere: